Jesus, the subversive

Note: At yesterday morning’s service, as I ended my sermon, an additional word about the appointed gospel (Matthew 13.31-33, 44-52) occurred to me, which I shared during announcements. It rarely surprises me when things other than what I intended to say come to mind, for I am a person of constant second (third, fourth, fifth, sixth…on and on) thoughts. I cannot recreate precisely what I said, but it was something like this…

Jesus launched a movement, going out into his first century world to share in word and deed the near presence of the kingdom of heaven, indeed, of God. The church, founded on Jesus’ life and labor, is an institution. Throughout human history, whatever the endeavor, in the transition from precipitating origin to permanent organization, something can be lost. At times, I wonder whether we, two millennia later, run the risk of domesticating Jesus, thus, losing any sense of his radical, revolutionary nature. Looking again at this morning’s series of five parables, I focus on the first three, for they reveal, expose Jesus’ subversive edginess.

Jesus, as a storyteller, as all good storytellers, employed familiar images and ideas, which his listeners readily recognized. Yet he frequently, outrageously turned those images and ideas on their proverbial heads, catching people unawares, arresting their attention. I picture Jesus leading us to a comfortable chair in which a long, sharp tack is embedded, inviting us to sit, all the while hoping we have not lost our sensitivity to new ways of thinking, of seeing our lives and world.

So, today…

The Parable of the Mustard Seed, Jan Luyken (1649-1712)

The kingdom of heaven is like a tiny mustard seed that grows into a great tree where birds make their nests. No, it doesn’t! The mustard seed is small, but the mustard plant is no tree, but a weed (a shocking comparison when the fabled cedars of Lebanon would be a far better image!) that, spreading quickly, is difficult, impossible to uproot. Ah, this is the nature of God’s kingdom!

The Parable of the Leaven, John Everett Millais (1829-1896)

The kingdom of heaven is like a woman (a shocking comparison in a first century patriarchal society!) mixing yeast (another shocking comparison, for yeast was an ancient symbol of unrighteousness!) in three measures of flour, which was a vast amount, yielding bread able to feed multitudes. Ah, this is the nature of God’s kingdom!

The Parable of the Hidden Treasure (c. 1630), Rembrandt Harmenszoon van Rijn (1606-1669)

The kingdom of heaven is like a hidden treasure in a field (so far, so good!) that a man finds, then hides (uh oh!), then sells all of his possessions and buys the field; all of which amounts to thievery! In Jesus day, a similar parable was in circulation. A man had a field with a buried treasure, but he did not know it. He died, bequeathing the field to his son, who later sold it. The buyer, plowing the field, discovered the treasure.[1] This version of the tale eliminates the immorality. Jesus, in his telling, retains it. Ah, this is the nature of God’s kingdom! It is treasure, yet one, once found, that always calls, challenges, confronts us with choices between righteousness and unrighteousness.

Ah, Jesus, a storyteller with the soul of a subversive!

 

Illustrations:

The Parable of the Mustard Seed, Jan Luyken (1649-1712)

The Parable of the Leaven, John Everett Millais (1829-1896)

The Parable of the Hidden Treasure (c. 1630), Rembrandt Harmenszoon van Rijn (1606-1669)

Footnote:

[1] Gospel of Thomas 109

8 thoughts on “Jesus, the subversive

  1. I love this, Paul. I open up what looks to be a normal blog post, and inside is hidden a TREASURE – sweet, subversive, new insight tucked out of view in some of Jesus’s parables. I love having new light on these stories, and I love that after more than 2000 years, Jesus never fails to surprise (with a little help from his friends)!

    Love,

    Karen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Karen, and, the more I reflect on Jesus’ edginess the more I desire to take another look at all of Jesus’ parables as presented in the gospel accounts. Doubtless, I believe, peering through a revolutionary lens, there are more discoveries to be made. Love always

      Like

  2. Paul,

    I would agree, a veritable gold mine, I would venture. I hope you will continue to share with us what you unearth as you search. In fact, might I be so bold as to suggest you ponder the idea of a little book on these gems?

    Much love,

    Karen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Karen, you are too kind. I trust wiser and more scholarly folk than I have studied the texts of Jesus’ parabolic sayings. But, yes, as I explore and should I discern a subversive view, I will share! Love always

      Like

  3. So Paul, a treasure in a field?? That only Jesus knows about?? Pretty sneaky !! And pretty smart too!! I believe that we learn the best lessons and appreciation from info and things we “find” ourselves rather than someone giving things to us, even if that someone is Jesus.

    Challenges, Choices, Righteousness and Unrighteousness!! Whew that’s a lot!! If we choose correctly do the weeds still grow, or do trees actually appear as part of the Kingdom of Heaven? I’m not having the best of days, but I’m excited by the prospect of “treasure” I may eventually find.

    I agree with Karen, there’s at least one other book in that mind of yours! I’ll look forward to it. The parishioners are lucky to get such a great follow-on sermon during announcements! A PRA original!!

    Much love

    Liked by 1 person

    • “A PRA original!” I love it. I never, and I mean precisely that, I NEVER would think that anything I think or say would be smart or clever or noteworthy enough to be considered original. Yes, I do think thoughts and ponder, I think, deeply, and consider and reconsider what I think constantly, but deeply enough to be called “original”? No, I don’t give myself that much credit. Still, thank you. I appreciate your care and confidence!

      Now, as for your comment about Jesus’ teaching/leading, I do believe that is precisely what he wants us to search and find – the hidden treasure of the kingdom of heaven – for he is not about to point it out and say, “There it is!”

      Love you

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah yes….the ‘just a few more words’ during the announcements…I remember that! But you put your finger on it, – on what appeals to me so much about these parables….so simple, but so amusing and subversive. Perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment