a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 33, Friday, April 7, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On what is lacking in Christ’s afflictions:[1] O Jesus, oft I have pondered Your Apostle’s word, wondering what would…what could be lacking in Your suffering for my sake; and, in my wondering, worrying that were there to be something lacking, making Your sacrifice somewhat, somehow less efficacious, then where would I be, who would I be without the grace of Your salvation?

Then I recalled what Your Apostle hath written in another place about my being a child of Abba, Your Father, my Father, and thus an heir with You in salvation providing that I, too, suffer with You for the sake and in the service of others.[2]

Ah, O Jesus, is this, at least, in part, Your meaning of taking up my cross and following You?[3]

I pray You, O Jesus, speak to me through Your Spirit that I may know the truth of it. Amen.

Footnotes:

[1] See Colossians 1.21-24 (my emphasis): And you who were once estranged and hostile in mind, doing evil deeds, he has now reconciled in his fleshly body through death, so as to present you holy and blameless and irreproachable before him; provided that you continue securely established and steadfast in the faith, without shifting from the hope promised by the gospel that you heard, which has been proclaimed to every creature under heaven. I, Paul, became a servant of this gospel. I am now rejoicing in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I am completing what is lacking in Christ’s afflictions for the sake of his body, that is, the church.

[2]See Romans 8.15b-17 (my emphasis): When we cry, “Abba! Father!” it is that very Spirit bearing witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs, heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ; if, in fact, we suffer with him so that we may also be glorified with him.

[3] See Matthew 16.24, Mark 8.34, and Luke 9.23. See also a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 27, On following Jesus and bearing my cross

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 33, Friday, April 7, 2017

  1. Paul,

    Wow! Suffering with Jesus for the sake of and in service to others!! Hmmmm… that really makes me think. Especially when you ask if that sacrifice is what it means to take up the cross and follow Jesus. I think we all have suffered in Service in both our professional and personal lives, but maybe I would look at it differently if I thought about it in the sense that it’s part of my following Jesus!

    Thanks for the new perspective Paul one of the reasons I love this Lenten series!!

    Thanks and Love

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Loretta, your comment – “I think we all have suffered in Service in both our professional and personal lives, but maybe I would look at it differently if I thought about it in the sense that it’s part of my following Jesus!” – clarifies my thinking. Yes, indeed, we all have suffered in our personal and professional lives and what if we viewed that suffering as an element or an aspect of our cross-bearing in following Jesus? It might transform our sense or understanding of our life’s experience! Yes, yes, yes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

