a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 32, Thursday, April 6, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On daily recreation: O God of Compassion, through Your Spirit, renew, refashion my inner being entire – my mind and heart and soul and spirit[1] – e’er to form an open, upturned hand, ne’er a hardened, fastened fist. So this day, yea, daily remake me that I alway am ready to receive the manifold gifts of Your sustaining grace. Amen.[2]

Footnotes:

[1] Here, I have in mind 2 Corinthians 4.16b (my emphasis): The Apostle Paul writes: Even though our outer nature is wasting away, our inner nature is being renewed day by day. While his primary point, as I interpret it, addresses the hardships of his ministry of the gospel and the physical sufferings involved, I rejoice in his discernment of being renewed daily by the Holy Spirit. This, for me, bespeaks the Holy Spirit’s continuous sanctifying work in the life of the follower of Jesus. To put this another way, the Holy Spirit, when serving as God’s indwelling presence and power, is not bestowed (does not come) once upon a time or once within the life of the believer, but rather every day, all day!

[2] Today, after a yesterday and last night and into this early morning of stormy, thunderous,  windswept skies barreling across the Southeast and into South Carolina, I awoke from fitful sleep with these words arising from my depths. Upon my instant reflection, truly, they are a reprise, another facet or expression of a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 31, Wednesday, April 5, 2017, On praying without ceasing.

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 32, Thursday, April 6, 2017

  1. Paul,

    It’s amazing how these words come to you in the middle of a night of difficult sleep!! An open hand as opposed a clenched fist that quite an analogy for me in today’s turbulent world!! So many fists being swung today, maybe we should all be remade!! Now that you’re nearing the end of Lent and this series, would you say you feel “remade” after this exploration?

    I feel ready to receive God’s gifts now! Thank you!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your question for me is tinged with irony, for I was reflecting this very day that, with 8 days remaining, this Lenten prayer a day series is drawing to a close and wondering where am I now, from whence have I come since Ash Wednesday, March 1?

      One of my self-re-discoveries is that I’m all over the place – some days and moments in days feeling grounded and confident in my faith in God, other days and moments of days feeling awash with sadness at how much I rebel against God and how far I fall short of what I perceive to be God’s gracious will.

      I also feel…believe that I have grown in my walk with God in Christ. I discerned in myself a deepening awareness of God’s presence and an expanding comprehension of who God is.

      AND I still am not certain fully what led me to engage this labor. I remain open to myself and my self that I am come to know more why and, therefore, who I am.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

