a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 31, Wednesday, April 5, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On praying without ceasing:[1] O Lord, I beseech You, through Your Spirit, grant unto me more and more, daily moment by daily moment, as Your same Spirit readies me to receive:

a mind ever-aware of Your Wonder…

a heart ever-accepting of Your Way…

a soul ever-awake to Your Word…

a spirit ever-aligned with Your Will.

Then I , through the Presence and Power of Your same Spirit, in every circumstance, in every state of my being – joyful or sorrowful, well or ill, calm or anxious, hopeful or despairing, tranquil or troubled – will rejoice to give You thanks. Amen.

Footnote:

[1] 1 Thessalonians 5.16-18: (The Apostle Paul wrote) Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 31, Wednesday, April 5, 2017

  1. I took so much from this prayer Paul!!

    We must be READY to receive…. if not, we miss God’s spirit because we aren’t listening and feeling. That really rang true for me last night. I could never have embraced your prayer during the day, but al night I could not only hear it, I could embrace it. I don’t want to miss God’s Presence and Power so I know that means I have to also Prepare to receive, just like we do before Communion! Thank you for that!

    My thanks and love!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amen AND, in an amazement to me, that element of the prayer – praying the Spirit to ready me to receive – came to me to add just as I was prepared to post the prayer. For the thought occurred to me that I need the Spirit to break the hardened sod of my mind and heart and soul and spirit, then to plant and fertilize and water the seed of my readiness!

      God is good!

      Love

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

