a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 29, Monday, April 3, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

Jesus said, “Do not worry, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear?’…your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But strive first for the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”[1]

On warding off worry by willing one thing: O Jesus, well You know my heart; fainting, fretful, at times, fearful, wantonly given to worry. Draw me, by Your Spirit’s tether, closer to You that I, alway seeking, seeing first God’s kingdom,[2] continuously may discern and find rest in the knowledge that the surest, truest cure for care about myriad things is to care for one thing. Amen.

Footnotes:

[1] Matthew 6.31, 32b-33

[2] Previous posts of a-Lenten-prayer-a-day concerning God’s Kingdom: day 14, Thursday, March 16, 2017, On the Kingdom of God and day 15, Friday, March 17, 2017, On Kingdom to Kin_dom

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 29, Monday, April 3, 2017

    • I appreciate your thoughtful, very thoughtful question, Loretta…

      As I reflect, I have faith – trust, confidence – in God, in God’s love, which is greater, stronger than death; meaning that I need not fear dying, thus, I need not fear anything in this life…

      Still, I have concerns about things – many things. And my concerns, depending on life’s circumstances and my sense of my capacities to do something (or not!) about those things that concern me, can blossom (perhaps, better said, deteriorate) into worry…

      Worry, then, for me, is my negation of my faith in God, which is a natural human impulse; as as a natural impulse, is unavoidable for me. I think that is at the heart of Jesus’ teaching about our worrying about many things in that we are to seek God and Cod’s righteousness and all other things will be granted or, I believe, become less significant.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

