a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 28, Saturday, April 1, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On beholding the Image of God’s new creation: O Lord, all that is, yea, too, humankind is fashioned in Your Image, even more, redeemed by Your Son, still more, through Your Spirit, made a new creation.[1]

Yet, for the longest time, at least for me and at least much of the time, I found it hard to see Your Countenance in the faces of others, verily, too, in the face I beheld in my mirror…

confess - regret

For, despite Your creating, saving, sanctifying work, I, oft trusting more (most? only?) in my observation and opinion, continued to regard others and myself from a human point of view of judgment as alway failing, falling short of Your will.[2]

Today, I, in my being entire – my mind and heart, soul and spirit – am convicted of my sin of denying Your goodness and grace.

In my repentance, I give You thanks for being granted new eyes to see others and myself as You see us.

In this, I also need praise You for Your merciful, infinite patience with me. Amen.

Footnotes:

[1] See 2 Corinthians 5.17-18a: (The Apostle Paul writes) So if anyone is in Christ, there is a new creation: everything old has passed away; see, everything has become new! All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ.

[2] See 2 Corinthians 5.14-16a (my emphasis): For the love of Christ urges us on, because we are convinced that one has died for all; therefore all have died. And he died for all, so that those who live might live no longer for themselves, but for him who died and was raised for them. From now on, therefore, we regard no one from a human point of view. Note: The Greek, kata sarka, here, translated “human point of view”, literally means “according to flesh”, which, in light of the Apostle Paul’s theology, as I interpret it, connotes more than human perception, but rather the inherent opposition of sinful flesh to God’s work in and through the Spirit. Thus, to view others, indeed, myself, as I write in my prayer “from a human point of view of judgment” is to perceive all things and everyone “as alway failing, falling short of (God’s) will.” So, again, I thank God for being given new eyes to see life and creation, others and myself no longer (not only) from “a human point of view” of judgment, but rather, as God sees, with mercy and grace!

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 28, Saturday, April 1, 2017

  1. Amen to this Paul! Given the hour that you wrote this, it’s clearly a topic that can keep us up at night. I’m so grateful for God’s patience with me, the fact that I can have a range of emotions and fall short time and time again. What keeps me going is the fact that I’m seeing the world with new eyes. Eyes wide open as a woman trying to finding my place alone. I’m accepting this new path and life, but also embracing God not only through my faith, but also through the many people in my life supporting me. I see God in all of them too.

    With love and thanks to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, yes, yes, Loretta, as the words of one of my favorite hymns has it, “new occasions teach new duties.” Your life transition without Tim and as you so eloquently write “as a woman trying to find my place alone” is most assuredly a “new occasion” that compels your immersion in the “new duty” of navigating and negotiating “this new path and life.” And what a wonderful thing for you to be able and willing to walk with a deeper faith in God and to behold God working in and through the folk walking with you and supporting you. As I now oft say to you, Carry on! Sally forth!

      Love

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

