a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 27, Friday, March 31, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On following Jesus and bearing my cross:[1] O Jesus, You call me to follow You daily and daily to take up my cross;[2] as Yours, one of suffering self-denial and self-sacrifice for the sake of others. O Jesus, though I delight that, by Your merit, You esteem me worthy to walk in Your Way, Your Truth, Your Life, You know that I fear and, for the sake of my self-preservation, would flee any hardship. By Your Spirit, continue to fill my heart with Your Love[3] that, in its perfection, casts out all my fear on this and any day and unto the day of my judgment.[4] Amen.

Footnotes:

[1] Previous posts of a-Lenten-prayer-a-day concerning following Jesus: day 11, Monday, March 13, 2017, On following Jesus & repentance; day 12, Tuesday, March 14, 2017, On following Jesus; day 13, Wednesday, March 15, 2017, On following, not worshiping Jesus

[2] See Matthew 16.24, Mark 8.34, and Luke 9.23 (Luke’s version of this Jesus-saying adds the word “daily”): Jesus said, “If any want to become My followers, let them deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow Me.”

[3] Here, I refer to Romans 5.5, where the Apostle Paul alludes to an aspect of the ministry of the Holy Spirit: …God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit that has been given to us.

[4] Here, I have in mind 1 John 4.16b-18a (my emphasis): God is love, and those who abide in love abide in God, and God abides in them. Love has been perfected among us in this: that we may have boldness on the day of judgement, because as he is, so are we in this world. There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear.

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 27, Friday, March 31, 2017

  1. Whew!! Fleeing hardship! Isn’t that what we love to do! The cross can be so heavy, especially when you don’t understand WHY God wants you to do something!!! I have a lot of fears, but I try to press through to follow God’s plan for me. Sure ain’t easy!

    Thanks and Love Paul!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, our crosses can be heavy AND, I think, given Jesus’ life and ministry and death, our crosses, as was His, alway are heavy. In this, I believe “cross-bearing” inherently means “hardship”, which I do not like in any form or fashion. Yet, as I seek to follow Jesus, I have come to see and believe hardship comes with the territory of discipleship. Not a pleasant or happy message, but a real and true one.

      Love

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

