a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 25, Wednesday, March 29, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On audacious joy: O Gracious God, in Your Love, You created me in Your Image…

O Jesus, You came to show, to be in Your flesh the imago Dei of unconditional Love and Justice…

O Spirit of God, You abide within me that I, through Your sanctification, might “come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God.”[1]

Whene’er I contemplate the words, “the knowledge of the Son of God”, I shudder in the audacious joy that I, by the Trifold Grace of You, O Blessed Trinity, am to know more about You, O Jesus, and to know more about what You, O Jesus, know about You, O God!

All to which, in joyous humility, I only can say: amen, amen, amen.

Footnote:

[1] Ephesians 4.13a

5 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 25, Wednesday, March 29, 2017

  1. This was really thought-provoking for me Paul. I want to know God better, I want to know Jesus better and I want to know myself better. Now I just need to move forward with the plan (as yet unwritten) to do just that!! I have faith (lots of it in my opinion), but I’m curious about the “Trifold Grace”. I hope it’s not a dumb question to ask what that is… my brains not working up to par at the moment.

    Many thanks and much love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Loretta, I believe that what you consider “as yet unwritten” about your plan, God already has written on your heart. As you continue to heed the calling of Jesus through His Spirit, what hath been written will be made clearer to you.

      As for “Trifold Grace”, that is my wording to repeat and thus emphasize the gift of life through God, the gift of God’s Love and Justice incarnate in Jesus, and the gift of Spirit-sanctification.

      AND, once again, I thank you for joining me on this Lenten journey in prayer!

      Love

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, Paul, as I read your message about God’s audacious, gracious love I find that I’m attempting to be open to receiving that love – but it’s not easy! I’ve been reading (just this afternoon) Karen Armstrong’s thoughts about mysticism, and the complete “otherness” of God. The idea of God in the Buddhist and Hindu faiths seems to be focused on “the universal reality” (if I understand it correctly) and they don’t think of a personal God. For Christians, Jews and Muslims, God IS personal but the “journey” to experiencing Him/Her is challenging and difficult in the extreme………it scares me, I must admit! Evelyn Underhill’s “journey” to union with God gives a good idea of how one must be willing to give up everything or rather, it is God’s action to bring us to that point where God says “My son/daughter, give me your heart” and she says that our response will determine our destiny.

    I do pray, and have been spending twenty minutes in silence as a discipline. I tend to look at what’s going on in the world and to see/ask for guidance as to what I can do to help those in desperate need – be it the environment, the poor, the despised and persecuted, nature and all living creatures. Usually something I can do comes to mind. I take that response as the action of the Holy Spirit……….but does God come first in my life? Regretfully I have to say no. Do I want Him/Her to be that? I think I do not. I admire the mystics, but I know that’s not what I’m called to – and not a journey I’d want to embark on………..

    Blessings to you, Pontheolla and your Mother-in-Law!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beryl, know that I’ve always admired and appreciated your deep faith and capacity to explore and question the nature of God and your relationship with Her/Him. The issues you raise are profound and, in my view, reach out and into the very heart of God, which is to say, touch the depth, height, and breath of his sacred mystery we call life. Continue, my beloved sister, in your generous (that is, expansive) courageous pilgrimage. Love, always and in all ways, Paul

      Like

Leave a Reply

