a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 24, Tuesday, March 28, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On words and prayer: O Lord, daily and day-long, I employ audible speech and written text to journey across the landscape that separates me from others; and they, too, with me that we might meet and communicate. So, also, in prayer, I set out to trek the terrain betwixt this earth and Your heaven, betwixt me and You with words spoken and scripted, as are these. (Yea, even when I seek You in the hushéd appeal of my heart, my call, my cry takes shape in human language.) Yet, surely, I need such not to address You Who dwells in the sheerest silence of the immenseness of eternity, You Who are the Silence of Everlasting Mystery. Yea, then, O Lord, in Your Love, teach me to speak in the tongues of angels.[1] Amen.

Footnote:

[1] My reference to 1 Corinthians 13.1a (my emphasis): If I speak in the tongues of mortals and of angels

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 24, Tuesday, March 28, 2017

  1. Thank you Paul!! Recently I’ve been focused on that space between earth and heaven because I can’t stop thinking about what Tim’s last couple of days on earth were like. As we prayed, or read and talked to him as you and Pontheolla did, could he hear us, did God hear us?? I pray every day for Tim and for continued healing for myself. Sometimes I say my prayers in silence and at times aloud, but I never know if one way is better than the other! Yet I keep praying because it brings me comfort.

    Much love & thanks!

    Loretta

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

