a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 20, Thursday, March 23, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On the paradoxical nature and work of the Holy Spirit: O Spirit of God, by Your Presence within me,[1] I, in the flesh of my human living, the very same dust into which the Lord God breathed life at the dawn of creation,[2] the very same dust inhabited by God’s Word in Jesus,[3] have the blessing of bearing His likeness and sharing in His ministry.[4]

Still, O Spirit of God, in Your indwelling my sinful human being, You, wholly Holy, Wise, and True, inhabit what is impure, imprudent, and imperfect. A more deserving earthly house I would imagine for You, though among humankind, whether that of mine own or that of anyone, there neither is nor can be.

Thus, O Spirit of God, I pray You stay. Abide within me and, by Your continual work of sanctification, make me, day by day, more and more as You are: holy, wise, and true. Amen.

Footnotes:

[1] My reference to John 14.15-17 (my emphasis): Jesus said, “If you love me, you will keep my commandments. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate, to be with you for ever. This is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, because he abides with you, and he will be in you.” Note: The Greek word έη can be translated into English as “among” or “in”; this latter rendering I prefer.

[2] See Genesis 2.7: The Lord God formed man from the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and the man became a living being.

[3] See John 1.1, 14: In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God…And the Word became flesh and lived among us, and we have seen his glory, the glory as of a father’s only son, full of grace and truth.

[4] My reference to 2 Corinthians 4.7: We have this treasure in clay jars, so that it may be made clear that this extraordinary power belongs to God and does not come from us.

3 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 20, Thursday, March 23, 2017

  1. Paul,

    Thank you for this start to my day!! What spoke to me most and held the most power for me was that God is “Holy, Wise, and True” yet inhabits us who are “impure, imprudent, and imperfect.” It reminds me of parenting as I said in one of my earlier responses to a prayer. We want our kids to listen to us because we are Wise and True (though probably not always Holy)…And God loves us anyway though we are impure, imprudent and imperfect.

    I met a woman at a presentation last week who said I had inspired her. She was an exhausted caregiver made worse by an emotionally abusive husband who told her she was Imperfect in every way and that he was Holy and Perfect. I clearly remember telling her that only God is Perfect!! She said I made her feel like she mattered when others rarely did. I felt as if I had done my job that day. Even if no one else got nothing from me that day, the one person who needed to hear me did.

    Much love & thanks!!

    Loretta

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good for you, Loretta! I’m sure God directed you to her so that she could be comforted and strengthened. I’ll keep her – and her husband – in prayer that at some point HE might “see the light”!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Loretta, Loretta, Loretta, I do not recall seeing this response! What a grand testament of your salient, more than sufficient words of support for caregivers! I am more than amazed and inspired by YOUR caregiving for caregivers! Love

    Like

Leave a Reply

