a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 17, Monday, March 20, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

When (the prodigal son) came to himself he said…“I will get up and go to my father, and I will say to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and before you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son. Treat me like one of your hired hands.’” So he set off and went to his father. But while he was still far off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion. He ran and put his arms around his son and kissed him (Luke 15.17a, 18-20).

On God’s Goodness and my prodigality in prayer: O Lord, I keep comin’ back ‘round to my waywardness. For with my best intentions, I seek You in prayer, yet most often (not that I need confess this to You, for I trust You know!) I cannot stay the course. I cannot hold my thoughts together in any semblance of order. Daily distractions, try as I might to ignore them, e’en for an instant, get in my way and lead me wayward. (E’en when I try to thank You for Your boundless Goodness, verily, Your beneficent God-ness to me, I lose my way and end up beseeching You to help me to thank You!) I would fear: Dost I weary You, Lord? Yet, by faith, I believe, I trust, I know that I do not (though I oft weary my self!). For You, Who is Love, love me and delight that I come to You – whether lying down or kneeling, walking, running, or wobbling, standing or stumbling, back-or-side-stepping – just as I am without one plea.[1] Amen.

Footnote:

[1] Here, I think of the words of Charlotte Elliott (1789-1871), which, set to the tune Woodworth, is one of my favorite hymns, Just as I am without one plea, but that Thy blood was shed for me, and that Thou bidd’st me come to Thee, O Lamb of God, I come. In this, find a stupendous mystery and miracle that God, through Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross, provides the “plea” for the sake of which, I, without the proverbial leg of merit or deserving to stand on, can come to the throne of mercy and grace!

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 17, Monday, March 20, 2017

  1. I’m so grateful for all of God’s patience because I’m guessing it’s one of the reasons that Love remains steadfast and unconditional even when we are wayward.

    It’s certainly not just you!! We are stray for what we should be doing… I think it’s the nature of the technological world we live in. Our thoughts and minds wander as we receive data and info even in the middle of the night. It’s a wonder any of us get anything done.

    One thing that’s help me is that I also get prayers via email so at least God can be front and center even if it’s in a technological way.

    God will never get tired of us…. but I’ve repeated your prayer for today twice already, just in case!!!

    Much love and thanks!!

    Loretta

    Liked by 1 person

    • Loretta, I agree with you that our technological advances(?) – yes, I believe, meant to aid us in our efficiency – swiftly have surpassed our (at least, my!) capacity to keep up and focus. (TMI, literally, 24/7/365 and 366 in leap years!)

      Nevertheless, I trust in God’s patience and for God’s gift in Jesus, Who, in fullest magnificent mystery (being not a riddle I can resolve by reason, rather only a reality in which I can rejoice!), in his salvific death and resurrection, is both my plea and the One to Whom I plead! I guess that’s what we call amazing grace!

      Love

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

