a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 16, Saturday, March 18, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On God’s confounding Love:[1] O God, Your Love confounds me. You confound me.

In Love, You give me the breath and strength of life…

In Love, You grant me the sun’s shine to brighten my days and the star’s light to delight me in the dark of night…

In Love, You bestow upon me a mind to think of You, a heart to feel You, a soul and spirit to seek You, and hands to serve You…

In Love, You surround me with the fellowship of family and friends alway to care and to comfort me, at times, to challenge and to confront me…

In Love, You continuously pour out bounteous blessings, seen and unseen, known and unknown by me, and all beyond my power to name or to number.

All this surpasses mine merit. Yea, even when I, in the vanity of my human hubris, would want to claim some (any!) deserving for myself, You love me. When I am at the best of my being and doing, all still far short of Your worthiness (as I, in my human limitations of knowledge and wisdom, would value it), You love me. When I am at my worst, surely the depth (and height and breadth) of my unworthiness, You love me.

O God, I am left with but one reckoning. You love me. In this, I find my worth. Amen.

Footnote:

[1] For a related post, see a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 1, Ash Wednesday, March 1, 2017, On the incomprehensibility of the Divine

4 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 16, Saturday, March 18, 2017

  1. Paul,

    You’ve outdone yourself with this one!! I for one am glad that God’s love for you helps you to see your worth. So many of us see your worth in every interaction with you. I’ve saved all of your Lenten prayers, but this one I’ll actually print out because each part of it speaks to me deeply. God’s love is very hard to understand at times because at many times in our lives we DON’T deserve it. YET it remains. It reminds me of parenthood. Our children can exasperate us at times, yet we’d never ever give up on them. One of the things God is for me is the Ultimate parent, the unconditional lover of each and every part of us no matter how messed up we might be.

    Thank you Paul for your way of putting words together that allow me to make sense of the world and my part in it.

    Much love!

    Loretta

    Liked by 1 person

    • “God is for me the Ultimate parent, the unconditional lover of each and every part of us no matter how messed up we might be”! Lord, have mercy, Loretta, “amen” to this! Your word evokes this thought: I wonder how much kinder (meaning: less wallowing in the inherent guilt and shame we humans bear, which leads to all manners of self-destructive and other-destructive behaviors) I would be to myself, we all would be to ourselves were we to hold fast to our belief in God’s unconquerable love for us?

      Love you back, always!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

