a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 14, Thursday, March 16, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

Jesus came to Galilee, proclaiming the good news of God, saying, “The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God has come near. Repent and believe in the good news” (and) “Follow me” ( Mark 1.14-15, 17a)

On the Kingdom of God: O Jesus, You came proclaiming that in You, Your life and Your ministry, God’s Kingdom had drawn nigh. Still, the Kingdom seems (at times, I fear, is) afar off. Kingdom-evidences in this strife-torn, sorrow-worn creation are sometimes hard to see, at least, for me.

Yet, blessedly, O Jesus, guided by Your gospel-light, with the spiritual sight of imagination, Kingdom-visions are not hard for me to seek. With the eyes of faith, I behold banquets where none hunger and all are welcome; festivals where none are poor, all attired in silken robes of equality’s wealth; where shackles lay shattered and prisons uninhabited, for liberty’s economy hath bankrupted all criminality and made charity the universal coin of the realm; where hospitals stand shuttered and dark and graveyards empty, for sickness and death are no more.

Ah, O Jesus, hearing again, hearing alway Your call, “Follow Me,” I see anew that I, in the strength of Your Spirit, in my daily being and doing, am to help usher in Your Kingdom-day; in the hungry and naked, the imprisoned and the stranger, the sick and dying, feeding and clothing, visiting and welcoming You.[1] Amen.

Footnote:

[1] See Matthew 25.31-40: When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit on the throne of his glory. All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats, and he will put the sheep at his right hand and the goats at the left. Then the king will say to those at his right hand, “Come, you that are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world; for I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you gave me clothing, I was sick and you took care of me, I was in prison and you visited me.” Then the righteous will answer him, “Lord, when was it that we saw you hungry and gave you food, or thirsty and gave you something to drink? And when was it that we saw you a stranger and welcomed you, or naked and gave you clothing? And when was it that we saw you sick or in prison and visited you?” And the king will answer them, “Truly I tell you, just as you did it to one of the least of these who are members of my family, you did it to me.”

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 14, Thursday, March 16, 2017

  1. Wow!!!!! Now this Speaks to me today!! Welcoming all & no one hungry!!! I just arrived at the location of my morning session of BMMM in Great Falls, VA. As I left work my GPS took me the scenic route to VA with very little traffic. Multi-million dollar homes lined every road with seemingly each home bigger than the previous one. As I drove I immediately thought of all of the hungry, homeless and I welcomed people there are just a few miles from here in parts of DC. Without a doubt we need to close the huge gap between the haves and the have nots in this country. I’m so grateful for your prayer this morning, particularly for its inclusiveness!! You Rock!!

    Thanks and much love to you Paul!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Be and do well this morning, Loretta, as I pray God and trust that you will.

      Verily, there is a wide and ever-widening gap between rich and poor, those with means/resources and those without. Pessimistically (realistically?), I don’t see that gap closing. I do believe that those of us who are concerned about it – whether institutions or individuals – are called by God or good conscience or humanistic values or ethical concerns or whatever to do whatever we can with whatever we have whenever we can for whomever we can.

      Love

      Like

Leave a Reply

