a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 12, Tuesday, March 14, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On following Jesus: O Jesus, You call me to follow You; in my life’s walk, setting the metaphorical feet of my mind and heart, soul and spirit only where You trod; being as You are and doing as You do with unconditional love and justice for all, at all times. O Jesus, You know how incomprehensible, how impossible this is for me! Because You are You and I am me with the unfathomably boundless distance between Your Being and mine. And because of the nature of the repentance, my repentance necessary in order to follow You; the repentance that is following You – daily, hourly, moment by moment turning away from my way toward You. This is incomprehensible, impossible for me concerning my conscious thoughts and feelings, intentions and actions, and still more inconceivably irresoluble regarding my unconscious self! O Jesus, knowing that I cannot do this, I pray, in Your Spirit, with the psalmist, “Have mercy on me, O God…and cleanse me from my sin”[1] and “cleanse me from my secret faults.”[2] And whilst I pray, by Your same Spirit, deepen my faith, my trust in You and Your salvation that I may know that I follow You not beseeching You to save me, but rather because You already have. Amen.

Footnotes:

[1] Psalm 51.1a, 2b

[2] Psalm 19.12b

4 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 12, Tuesday, March 14, 2017

  1. You truly HAVE been saved Paul!! And lots of people, including me, have benefited from that! It’s so hard to avoid sin as well as to follow Jesus, but we do the best we can. What I think those of us who follow you love about your sermons and prayers is that they are so honest without being preachy and you clearly shows your struggle with staying on the right path. You make me feel better about myself because your words don’t have any judgement for when we sin. You make me feel like we are all in this together and not that you’re better than us. I can’t tell you how refreshing that is for me. Pray on!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Loretta…

      Where I struggle – and have struggled – most is in my conscious, nearly constant awareness of where and how and when I fall short of God’s grace and glory. I try not to wallow in it, for such self-absorption, I believe, can bear the fruit of wearying self-pity or, worse, a kind of self-pride (i.e., “See how awful I am! No one’s worse than I am!”). Neither self-pity nor self-pride produce anything good or helpful for me or for anyone.

      Through it all, I’m learning to trust God more and more for what God has accomplished in Jesus.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Tina, but, no, not all all…I pray no more or less deeply than anyone else, I think. What I am deeply aware of (and, again, no more or less greatly than anyone else) is how far, very far I fall from God’s glory. Thank goodness, thank God for divine, unconditional love!

      Like

Leave a Reply

