a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 10, Saturday, March 11, 2017

 

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On Jesus, my truest home: O Jesus, my friend and my brother, this Lent, as every Lent, day by day, I seek to follow You more nearly[1] on Your journey to Jerusalem. You, O itinerant One, having no place to lay Your head,[2] alway on the move, for alway You find Your truest and only home in doing your Father’s will.[3] For the sake of this, You are more than my friend and my brother. You are my Lord and my Savior. For in bearing my sin on the cross of Your destiny of death, You became and alway will be my truest and only home, where I, yea, my soul, now and forever flees for repose.[4] Amen.

Footnotes:

[1] A reference to words attributed to Richard of Chichester (1197-1253): Day by day, dear Lord, of thee three things I pray: to see Thee more clearly, love Thee more dearly, follow Thee more nearly, day by day.

[2] See Matthew 8.19-20 (my emphasis): A scribe approached (Jesus) and said, “Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.” And Jesus said to him, “Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests; but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head.”

[3] See John 6.35, 37-40 (my emphasis): Jesus said, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never be hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty…Everything that the Father gives me will come to me, and anyone who comes to me I will never drive away; for I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will, but the will of him who sent me. And this is the will of him who sent me, that I should lose nothing of all that he has given me, but raise it up on the last day. This is indeed the will of my Father, that all who see the Son and believe in him may have eternal life; and I will raise them up on the last day.”

[4] A reference to the hymn How Firm a Foundation, verse 4, The Hymnal 1982: The soul that to Jesus hath fled for repose, I will not, I will not desert to its foes; That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake, I’ll never, no, never, no, never forsake!

4 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 10, Saturday, March 11, 2017

  1. So Paul…. I’ve been up for hours editing a document before publication and was excited when today’s prayer arrived in my inbox. I probably should have waited to read this because it brought me to tears. Why?? This line hit me really hard…”You became and will always be my my truest and only home.” I’ve been discovering over the last 7 months how your definition of “home” can change in an instant…Armor Drive will likely always be my home but it sure feels different without Tim. But what I’ve also learned is that I feel so much more Peace too now that I’m closer than ever to God since Tim’s death. Someone said to me this week that I seem “at peace and at home with myself”. I thought that was profound. But what I didn’t get until just now is the fact that even though my house feels empty without Tim’s physical presence, it also feels full with God. So I’m at home with God and that’s where my peace is coming from. Thank you for this revelation!! Much love!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! How wonderful is your discovery of the Presence and Peace of God and the making of home.

      Funny, not humorous, but ironic… I remember after Wayne died feeling closer to him, sensing the nearness of his presence in a way I hadn’t known whilst he was alive in this world. It’s difficult to articulate, but, nevertheless, my awareness of Wayne has been heightened ever since. Not a day passes without my thinking of him, speaking with him, referring to him in conversations with others…

      Your speaking of Tim brought…brings this to mind anew. Thank you for that.

      Love, always

      Liked by 1 person

      • I feel so selfish even writing this but this prayer series have been a powerful force in my life. They’re helping me to grasp concepts I hadn’t been grasp before now. I know you have lots of followers but I feel as if you’re writing just to me. I think someone on Facebook wrote something similar to you regarding this prayer season as well!! I’m grateful for you in my life and for the growth this prayer series is allowing me to gain!!

        Love

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

