a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 9, Friday, March 10, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On human mortality and the immortality of prayer: As mortal, O Lord, I know that I must reckon my flesh as grass that flourishes ‘til the wind blows, and then it is gone[1] or as the lily of the field, though today arrayed more splendidly than Solomon, tomorrow, withering, is cast into the oven.[2] Yet, O my Lord, dare I bid that You, by Your Spirit, make my prayer of adoration for You not as I am, but as You are; You Whose Love is steadfast from everlasting unto everlasting,[3] You Whose Word stands for ever.[4] Thus, I shall know, e’en now, whilst I dwell in flesh, that I shall pray You all my days in this world and in the timeless age to come. Amen.

Footnotes:

[1] See Psalm 103.15-16

[2] See Matthew 6.28-30

[3] See Psalm 103.17

[4] See Isaiah 40.8

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 9, Friday, March 10, 2017

  1. I’ve loved all of the prayers thus far, but this one touched my soul and my spirit. The most resonating part for me is “Yet, O my Lord, dare I bid that You, by Your Spirit, make my prayer of adoration for You not as I am, but as You are.” What I took away from this is, though we pray we do so as the mortals we are, and not as God does – loving everyone unconditionally, and steadfastly forever. I always wondered if my prayers fall short, if I’m just going through the motions, and your prayer puts things into perspective for me. I have hope though that we still have time to pray in more meaningful ways until the wind blows and we are no more. Thanks and love to you Paul.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, yes, we still have time, as long as our bodies are filled with life’s breath, to continue to deepen in our lives of prayer. All of it, in the context of eternity, preparing us for our ministry of everlasting adoration of God. Much love, always, eternally

      Like

Leave a Reply

