a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 7, Wednesday, March 8, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On the certainty of my ignorance and my trust in God: Everlasting God, as a child, from a time before I can remember, when night fell, whether soft or hard upon my sense of the state of the world, my world, I oft prayed as I was taught, “Now, I lay me down to sleep, I pray Thee, Lord, my soul to keep.” Yea, as I grew, oft confident – arrogantly, ignorantly – of my self, my will, my way, I prayed less and less for Your guardianship at night and still less for your guidance during the day. Yet, for years, and surely now, at these current and latter days of my pilgrimage through this earthly realm, as I know more of my self and of life in this world, I am certain that I know less about each. Now, O Everlasting One, in chiefest trust, I turn to You, throughout the hours of each day and night, praying, “Guide me waking and guard me sleeping that awake I may watch with Christ, and asleep I may rest in peace.”[1] Amen.

Footnote:

[1] My personal paraphrase of the antiphon, Guide us waking, O Lord, and guard us sleeping; that awake we may watch with Christ, and asleep we may rest in peace, from An Order for Compline, The Book of Common Prayer, page 135.

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 7, Wednesday, March 8, 2017

  1. Such an honest prayer! I Love how we come full circle on our lives Paul. As kids we do what we’re told as we are taught to pray, but as we get into our teenage years and we “know everything” we do more of what we want and less of what we’ve been taught to do. Finally, Adult life takes over and depending on the strife we face we hopefully fall back into our prayer lives especially as we get closer to the end of our lives. I always tended to pray at night for my safety and those I love, primarily because I don’t like the dark…. but during the day I rarely sought God’s guidance… what I like about your prayer is that you’re covering both day and night. These days we truly need that (and then some!!). Thank you for getting my day off to a great start!!

    Love

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

