a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 6, Tuesday, March 7, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On signs: O God of wonder, in Your gracious Governance, You gave unto Your people, sojourning through the wilderness from captivity to liberty, the guidance by day of a pillar of cloud and, by night, a pillar of fire.[1] Many a day, many a time during these days, life, for me, seems…is barren of ease, desolate of comfort, bounding on every side with ravenous beasts of fear and anger, suspicion and reproach. Send, O God, a sign of Your abiding Presence and abundant Power to help me hold in the hands of my prayers the heart of my hope that come whate’er, whene’er, howe’er, I may rest in Your Love. Amen.

Footnote:

[1] See Exodus 13.21-22

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 6, Tuesday, March 7, 2017

  1. Thank you Paul!! AMEN for resting in God’s love in spite of all that is going on in the world today. Mercy as you would say!!! I woke up to an email this morning from a woman hosting the conference I am speaking at on Monday. She shared that she can’t wait for people to see and hear me as she did last year so they can “see my light and have new hope”. I think that’s my prayer for today and will get me through some of the dark times.

    Love

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

