a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 4, Saturday, March 4, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On submission in prayer: O my God, by Your Spirit, help my weak will, heal my stubborn soul that I more may open my hands to you, that I more may bear my heart to you. By Your same Spirit, as Your breath, grant my prayers, my daily sighs that are too deep for words,[1] greater, clearer voice that, like a dove, my biddings rise on the wings of flight as I boldly, in sincerest confession, speaking with my lips the truth of all my life, come before Your alway welcoming throne of grace and mercy in these gravest times, my times of manifold need.[2] Amen.

Footnotes:

[1] See Romans 8.26: Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we ought, but that very Spirit intercedes with sighs too deep for words.

[2] See Hebrews 4.16: Let us therefore approach the throne of grace with boldness, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need. Note: The verb form of the Greek word, parresias, which can be translated into English as “boldness” or “confidence”, literally means “to say everything”, which I, in my prayer, speak of as “sincerest confession”, that is, “speaking with my lips the truth of all my life.”

2 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 4, Saturday, March 4, 2017

  1. Lordy!!!! Sighs that are too deep for words!! That brought tears to my eyes and describes my week exactly!!! I too need to hear my heart more to God!! At times I know I fail to do so because I think He knows my heart!! The discipline I need to focus on this Lent is saying my prayers aloud… both so that I can commit to them more intentionally and so that I can bear my heart to God.

    Thank you for making this more clear for me with your prayer! Much love

    Liked by 1 person

    • Loretta, I think…I believe that for me one of the values of saying aloud (or, in the case, of my Lenten discipline, writing) my prayers is that I discern what I am thinking and feeling. For oft I do not know – or I’m not sure of – the content of my inner life of idea and emotion and intention until I say it aloud or read what I have written.

      I bid you the best of outcomes as you articulate your heart’s sense and substance

      Love

      Like

Leave a Reply

