a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 3, Friday, March 3, 2017

my-hands-2-27-17 Note: As a personal, spiritual discipline, I write a prayer for each of the forty days of Lent; each petition focusing on a theme, truly, relating to a care or concern weighing on my mind and heart, at times, vexing my soul and spirit…

On self-knowledge, self-loathing, & self-love, again (with “alway”): O my Lord, I awakened this morning with this (deeper?) insight into what, for me, is a paradox of Your Being: The unconditionality of Your Love for me alway allows me, in my free will, to seek my own way and ways to love me. Yet alway I fail. That, too, you allow. Through this shattered mirror of my constant inability to love my self, truly an inherent, life-long debility, may I see You more clearly; and, alway confident of Your Love, which alway is greater than the fault and guilt of my failure, may I, day by day, more and more, until alway, surrender to You. Amen.

5 thoughts on “a-Lenten-prayer-a-day, day 3, Friday, March 3, 2017

  1. Paul,

    What I love about this prayer is the free will…. and finding your own way!! None of us are the same so being able to fail, and pick yourself up and fail again truly allows us to be who we were meant to be. Even better of course is that God loves us the entire time no matter what we do or don’t do.

    Thanks & Love

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Through assurance of God’s love, may you find your way to healthy self-love. Sounds like a difficult beginning to Lent. Prayers for you as you heal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • As I am wont to say, Laura, my life is Lent and Lent is my life. It seems I am so inwardly wired (or perhaps, more honestly said, disconnected!) that intense rumination on my failings is a quintessential aspect of my ontology. And, regarding difficulty, there are moments when I say, “I tire of being me.” Still, my self is the only self I have, so, trusting in God’s Love, I slog along one day, at times, one sluggish step at a time

      Like

Leave a Reply

