is brown the newest black?

Black. A basic (my wife, Pontheolla, truly a fashionista from birth, tells me, “a grounding, foundational”) color in the fashion palate; as such, the basis of the formation of many an outfit. Hence, the meaning behind the provocative title of the acclaimed Netflix comedy-drama, Orange Is the New Black, telling the tale of life in a federal minimum-security women’s prison where jumpsuits are prescribed attire and their color, orange, the new black.

Black, however, for me, as an African American, always bears the connotation of race. And, given my life’s experiences and my sense of American history, always brings a flood of memories of the discriminatory deferral, at times, denial of life’s opportunities and, equally, perhaps worse, the disavowal of God-given human dignity. And, as I believe that race and racism remain constant elements of the American “experiment” (for The Declaration of Independence’s promise of “Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness” has yet to be realized by all at all times), discrimination always, on any given day, at any given time, for any other color painfully can be renewed.

“Annalisa”. I wrote about her before (revelación, June 1, 2016), describing her as “an engagingly convivial twenty-something ambitious college student with a thoughtful vision for her future.” In that prior blogpost, I recounted how I was made freshly aware of the insidious nature of my own prejudice. For I had asked Annalisa how she planned to spend that year’s coming Memorial Day, adding (not assuming she would observe), “an American holiday.” I realized and later asked Annalisa’s forgiveness for my sin, for she, Puerto Rican, was, is American.

In short time, Annalisa has become a dear friend. Verily, Pontheolla and I view her as we would a daughter.

Today, upon greeting, Annalisa had a look. One I’ve seen before. Sadly, many times. In my mirror and in too many eyes of too many others. A look of sudden hurt; the sort of which comes from an unexpected encounter. I asked, “Are you alright?” She answered, with welling tears, “I had incident on the street.” A man, pointing at the decal of the Puerto Rican flag on Annalisa’s car, drove up beside her, gesturing wildly, madly uttering derogatory epithets. Even more, she told us that her fiancé, “Victor”, had had a similar confrontation. A man approached him in a threatening manner, making disparaging ethnic references. Still more, she recounted how she and Victor and their families and friends, in the light and shadow of the heightened racially-tinged tenor of these times in America, had begun having intentional conversations about how to respond with calm and care if, when they encountered discrimination.

Pontheolla, Annalisa, and I joined in caring embrace. Pontheolla and I, thanking Annalisa for sharing with us, expressed our sorrow, and, later, when she departed, bade that she “take care and be careful.” This last counsel, I feel, I fear is all too necessary in these times.

5 thoughts on “is brown the newest black?

  1. Your and Pontheolla’s counsel to Annalise is very wise Paul! I’m currently on the subway traveling to Clarendon VA for dinner with University colleagues I haven’t seen since Tim’s funeral. We decided to meet at the subway entrance and walk to the restaurant. After getting on the subway and before reading your blog post I felt naked without my car given my last experience on the subway two months ago.

    In these times I feel the necessity to plan an escape route for wherever I go and like Annalise and her family I plan in my head possible responses if I encounter trouble. I wish the days would return where we could simply think about dinner menus or other pleasant topics as we head about our daily business as opposed to having to plan for the possibility of racial incidents, much like our parents did daily many years ago.

    I’m so very sorry for what Annalisa endured! And very sorry for the current state of our country.

    Liked by 1 person

    • As I said to Annalisa, so, my beloved Loretta, I say to you: Take care and be careful. These are perilous times and your thinking ahead about alternate plans and escape routes is wise. AND your words about facing racial incidents “much like our parents did daily many years ago” is chilling and real! Much love and care

      Like

Leave a Reply

