Friday, September 16, 2016, Tulsa, Oklahoma, approximately 7.30 p.m.

Terence Crutcher

yet another

son, brother,

and father

put down

on the ground;

an unarmed

black man

(really?

truly!)

banned

from life –

permanently, perpetually

irreversibly, irretrievably –

shot to death

by police,

white police.

 

What is, will be the excuse, the rationale

justifiable,

the reason or rhyme

this time?

 

And where,

oh, where

are the critics’ voices

who condemned Colin Kaepernick’s

and others’ choices

to express

their protest

against the racial disparity

of our country

by first sitting,

then kneeling,

(in a more respectful manner)

at the playing

of The Star-Spangled Banner?

 

Are they, these critics, unaware

or do they not care

that the point of the protest

sadly has been made manifest

again?

 

Oh, when

will we understand

that Black Lives Matter

because they,

we,

I

don’t…

not yet?

6 thoughts on “Friday, September 16, 2016, Tulsa, Oklahoma, approximately 7.30 p.m.

  1. Amen Paul!! I’m just sooooooo exhausted from hearing the excuses … One officer used his taser and the other her gun… That speaks volumes to me about how we perceive others and what actually represents a threat. No one should ever be killed trying to get home from class just because their car broke down. I hate to even admit that I’ve lost count of how many Black Lives have been taken thus far!! I know it’s too damn many! And yet we focus on whether or not a quarterback is being disrespectful of the National Anthem!!

    Canada really is looking more and more appealing each day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loretta, Terence Crutcher’s death at the hands of the police and that of Keith Lamont Scoot in Charlotte (though, yes, police attest that he had a gun and posed an immediate threat) leave me reeling. Again! Will this – apparent animus between the black community and law enforcement – end? Ever?

    More I am distressed for we Americans do not seem able to make and sustain significant progress in our race relations. We have high points in our history of gain, e.g., the Civil and Voting Rights Acts of the 1960s (which, in my view, was one of the last chiefly praiseworthy moments of our national achievement), then we slide back into a withering malaise that, when it flares into violence, is evident of a communal, lethal viral sickness.

    Will this end? Ever?

    I don’t know…

    Like

  3. Paul,

    I have no words. My heart aches that there seems to be nothing to be done to end this madness. I know your answer, love, is the only answer. But how do we bring it to bear on the chaos that seems to reign at the moment?

    Much love to you and Pontheolla on this, another sad day.

    Karen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Karen, yes, yes, I believe and seek to practice love unconditional as the antidote for dismaying circumstances and conditions of life. In this regard, I think that Terence Crutcher and Keith Lamont Scott of Charlotte are dead and I am alive. What do I, can I do with that reality? Continue to love without condition. Does this act forestall or eliminate sadness? No. It does not and cannot. Still, if I were to stop trying to love and rather to seethe with hatred and mistrust, then…I dare not imagine the result

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a heart- shattering question that by rights should/MUST echo in every American heart tonight: “Terence Crutcher and Keith Lamont Scott of Charlotte are dead and I am alive. What do I, can I do with that reality?” And the answer rings: “Continue to love without condition.” That answer is what led Jesus to a cross, right? That answer is what leads us all to a cross, right? And yet, you are so right. It is the only possible answer. It will not stop the pain or quell the heartbreak, but it is still THE only answer. Neither police bullets nor indifference nor hatred nor obfuscation will ever diminish its quiet, relentless power. “Continue to love without condition.”

    Thank you, dear, dear friend.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, Karen, love unconditional led AND put Jesus on the cross of his death. And I believe that’s my calling. Do I desire it? No. Would I choose it? No. In some real, down in the bowels sense, I believe the calling has chosen me…

      Somewhere along the way of my Christian pilgrim journey I have come to accept that taking up my cross and following Jesus means being willing to consider doing what he did, laying down my life for his cause.

      Now, given how my life has played out so far, is it likely I will die in the profession, the action of my faith? No. Still, I have come to a place of willingness…

      One area of engagement is clear to me. Our American unfinished, unresolved struggle with race means, for me, that my effort at loving unconditionally must (and God knows I rarely use the morally heavily weighted and freighted words of “must”, “should”, and “ought”) be as stubbornly relentless as the ill I seek to address.

      Like

Leave a Reply

