counted (Clinton’ed) out?

In my blog post, when the trumpet blasts, run for the hills! (May 9, 2016), I offered observations on the then presumptive nominees of the Republican and Democratic parties, Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton, reflecting on what now are widely seen as their “negatives”.

Still, I wrote, in part: “…two confessions…I believe Hillary has some credibility concerns…And I’ve done some hard thinking through my questions about her person and her candidacy…between Trump and Clinton, I believe her to be the class of the two regarding experience in governance and expertise in governing. For this reason…I plan to vote for Clinton…”

I am reconsidering my vote. Why? Because Clinton broke my heart.

In a speech this past Friday, she said, in part, “…to…be grossly generalistic, you could put half of Trump’s supporters into what I call the basket of deplorables…The racist, sexist, homophobic, xenophobic, Islamophobic…Now some of those folks…are irredeemable, but thankfully they are not America.”

I do not disagree with Clinton’s assessment of the temper of the Trump campaign. I also acknowledge the “grossly generalistic” tenor of her language and that she later regretted her exaggerated negative categorization of “half” of Trump’s base of support.

Nevertheless, I have lived much of my conscious life able and willing to listen to others, verily, “the other”, those with whom I vastly, at times, violently disagreed. In my listening, I labored and labor still to see and understand reality from their point of view.

Why? Because I believe we all are children of one God. And even if one argues with me on that point, none, I also believe, can dispute that we all occupy one planet. Thus we are inextricably bound in a global destiny. In this realization, made especially telling, chilling given how fractured is our world along deepening, bloodyingly darkening boundary lines of clan and class, race, religion, region, and ideological worldview, I live to be a person, an embodiment of a place where contrary people and conflicting opinions can engage in safety.

This night, tweeting @Hillary Clinton, I wrote:

Sec’y Clinton, you’ve identified unnamed, untold folk via your perceptions of their views. I expect more from you

and

Verily, id’ing folk as “deplorable” based on your sense of their positions, in my view, is to denigrate them. I expect more.

If, in my view, Trump has ascribed to himself the role of a false messiah, repeatedly saying, “I alone can fix it” (whatever America’s problem is), then Clinton, in casting some folk as “irredeemable”, has ascended to the realm of divine judgment.

Either case and both cases are utterly unacceptable to me.

2 thoughts on “counted (Clinton’ed) out?

  1. Paul,

    This entire political scenario should be unacceptable to all of us. This election makes me actually ponder for the first time in my life not voting and I can’t believe I’m even writing that down. But when you look at both candidates there isn’t much of a choice that feels acceptable. Nice job tweeting Secretary Clinton and I’m sorry she broke your heart. It’s a heartbreaking time indeed.

    Loretta

    Liked by 1 person

    • Loretta, in the morning’s light (when I oft find myself rethinking something I’ve said, written, or done the night before), this blog post remains an expression of my heart’s discontent. I am not angry at Trump or Clinton or the state of our presidential electoral politics. I am sad. Very.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

