what would we do?

preachinga j.o.t. (just one thought), based on John 12.20-36, shared with the people of Epiphany Episcopal Church, Laurens, SC, during Evening Prayer on Tuesday in Holy Week, March 22, 2016

Among those who went up to worship at the festival were some Greeks. They came to Philip, who was from Bethsaida in Galilee, and said to him, “Sir, we wish to see Jesus.”[1]

Philip, in response to an earnest request of strangers to be introduced to the latest luminary, the prestigious personality of the day, who Philip happens to know, runs to Andrew, I imagine, asking, “What do I do?” Andrew, I further imagine, calmly replies, “I know. Let’s tell Jesus.” So, they do.

Jesus hearing that Greeks (likely Greek-speaking Jews of the diaspora, thus dwelling outside of Israel) want to see, know him, this being evidence that word of his ministry has spread beyond the bounds of that land called “Holy”, understands this as a signal to initiate the final act of his life; his death on the cross for the redemption of the world: “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified.”

We are not told whether those Greeks saw Jesus. Perhaps because that’s not the point, for this is our ministry. We, who know Jesus, are those who are to show Jesus, his love, his justice to others.

So, what would you, I do if, when someone says to us, in so many words, “I wish to see Jesus”?

 

Footnote:

[1] John 12.20-21

5 thoughts on “what would we do?

  1. I would say, you will see Jesus when you stop looking for one “larger than life all powerful being”, and instead see a little bit of Jesus in everyone we see and everything we do. We see hundreds of people each day, and each of them is carrying a piece of Jesus that they (can) share with others…. But only if they choose to and only if they have a clear concept of what it means to live like Jesus. I don’t think any of us do that everyday but if each of us only did it sometimes this world would be a much better place. Thank you for sharing these words!

    Like

    • Loretta, I love your reply. I just finished reading a Lenten booklet of meditation entitled, “Meeting Jesus on the Margins”, based on Matthew 25, Jesus’ word about in caring for the hungry, thirsty, naked, sick, and imprisoned we care for him. All the writers enforced precisely the point you’ve made – seeing Jesus in everyone. And today I had the most amazing experience, which I might have missed had I not been reading these meditations that primed me for readiness. I listened to a man pour out his soul, sharing with me his experiences of living, being on the margins of society. I swear that as I listened and looked in his face, I saw the face of Jesus! Again, dear sister, thank you.

      Like

      • Now that’s an experience Paul!!!!! I’m guessing (hoping) that experience may result in a sermon.

        I had an opposite experience of spending a day with the most negative person ever!! The day drained all of my energy. At one point I wasn’t sure I could get up, then I thought to myself “she needs Jesus” and tried to empathize with why she’s so negative all the time. I tried to see her view and what Jesus would say to her. I shared a few things and she said “are you ALWAYS this positive??” in an exasperated tone. But at least my attempt to share with her gave me the energy to get up and leave the conference room. Then lo and behold, she thanked me for sharing and giving her something to think about on her ride home! She said she’d be happier if she was more like me. I wanted to say, “no you need to be more like Jesus”…Thank you Jesus!! Maybe next week with her will be better!!

        Like

      • I am sorry for your draining experience. Yet, as you’ve shared, that person took away something positive from her encounter with you. I do not believe too far from true to say that she meet Jesus in you!

        The person with whom I met today and to whom I listened is on my heart and in the soul of my prayers. Even with all of his burdens, his generosity of spirit and hopefulness shine through the darkness around him. As the woman said to you, I say about him: I pray to be as hopeful and grateful as he!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

