prophetic love

preachinga sermon, based on Luke 13.31-35, preached with the people of Epiphany Episcopal Church, Laurens, SC, on the 2nd Sunday in Lent, February 21, 2016

If you knew or suspected that someone wanted to hurt you, to kill you, what would you do? Given the intensity of my self-interest, the immediacy of my desire, my need for self-preservation, I would run. As I read the Bible, I have good company…

Elijah defeated the prophets of Baal, proving that his Lord was God and infuriating the chief benefactors of the cult of Baal, King Ahab and Queen Jezebel, who sent word to Elijah of her vengeful murderous intentions. Straightway, Elijah “fled for his life.”[1]

Jesus, on the night before his crucifixion, predicted that his disciples would abandon him. All declared loyalty. Yet, at his arrest, they, fearing the same fate, “deserted him and fled.”[2]

When facing the potential, the promise of death, taking flight makes sense. However, asking that proverbial question, “What would Jesus do?”, we behold another answer.

Some Pharisees came to Jesus. These members of the Jewish party devoted to obedience to God’s Law would prove to be Jesus’ adversaries, considering him a challenge to the status quo, his gospel of inclusive love too radical a departure from the observance of the commandments as they practiced them. This time, however, they come with a warning of danger. Herod, Israel’s puppet monarch installed by the Roman Empire, wants to kill him. Herod, who already beheaded John the Baptist, viewed Jesus as yet another disturber of the peace or even, he feared, John raised from the dead![3] Jesus, with uncompromising defiance, refuses to yield: “Go tell that fox, I am casting out demons and performing cures today and tomorrow” (Jesus’ ministry, from the beginning, has centered on deliverance and healing from all that separates us from the health and wholeness of God) “and on the third day I finish my work” (an allusion to his resurrection), “yet today, tomorrow, and the next day I must be on my way” (Jesus will continue his ministry according to his timetable, not that of Herod or anyone else) “because it is impossible for a prophet to be killed away from Jerusalem” (Jesus knows he is on a journey to his death).

What compelled Jesus “to dream the impossible dream, to fight the unbeatable foe”, Herod, who possessed all authority to destroy him, thus, “to bear with unbearable sorrow, to run where the brave dare not go”?[4] Perhaps because Jesus was subject to another, greater authority. What was that “heavenly cause” that led Jesus to “march into Hell”[5], into the face of his own death?

Jesus, a prophet, forthteller of God’s word, summoned a city to its calling, a people to their purpose. Jerusalem, the great metropolis, the nation’s capital, the home of the temple, the house of God, the iconographic locus of the people’s history and destiny, had grown flaccid in obedience, lifeless in worship, given to outward sign over inward virtue. Jerusalem, even in the time of Jesus, had a reputation for rejecting and killing prophets, those who, in God’s name, called the wayward to repentance.

Still, something more than mere, even devoted duty drove Jesus. I believe it was love; unconditional benevolence that seeks to do good, that seeks to honor God. Even more, prophetic love that wills and acts in the best interests of another even if the reward is rejection and the result, death. This was the “another authority.” The “heavenly cause.” The power greater than fear. In truth, Jesus didn’t act in defiance of Herod, but in commitment to his calling; one that bore the burden of his soul-deep awareness that his killer would not be Herod, but Jerusalem, for which, out of love, he wept in lament: “Jerusalem, Jerusalem…how often have I desired to gather your children together as a hen gathers her brood under her wings, and you were not willing!”

This prophetic love didn’t die with Jesus. Countless are history’s examples…

On April 3, 1968, Martin Luther King, Jr., went to Memphis to lead yet another non-violent march in protest of the denial of equal rights. A nearly successful attempt had been made on his life, and detractors and supporters had urged him not to come. Yet it was a prophet’s love that compelled him to be on his way. On the eve of his assassination, King addressed a gathering, closing what would be his final sermon:

I don’t know what will happen…but it doesn’t matter with me now. Because I’ve been to the mountaintop…Like anybody, I would like to live a long life…but I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will…And I’ve seen the promised land. I may not get there with you. But…we, as a people, will get to the promised land. And I’m happy tonight. I’m not worried about anything. I’m not fearing any man. Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord.[6]

This prophetic love didn’t die with Martin. Countless still are history’s examples. How about you? Me?

Lent is a time of self-examination. So, I ask: What is our “another, greater authority,” “heavenly cause,” power greater than fear? What glory have we seen? What is our vocation (from the Latin, vocare, “to call”) of prophetic love that pulls, pushes us to be and do the best for another even at the risk, the cost of trouble?

Speaking always and only for myself…

Nearly ten years ago, on a six-month sabbatical, whilst traveling around the world purposefully putting myself with people who didn’t look, think, feel like me, thus, in places where I was the “other”, the “outsider”, I found my truest calling. To be obedient, open to love and learn, to strive with compassion to comprehend those who are different from me, even at the risk, the cost of trouble and more. For I have come to believe that when I know for what and for whom I, in the name of the love and justice of Jesus, who is my “another, greater authority,” am willing to die, then I know what it is freely, fully, faithfully to live.

This is my “heavenly cause”, my power greater than fear. What’s yours?

Footnotes:

[1] See 1 Kings 18.20-19.30.

[2] See Matthew 26.31-56.

[3] See Luke 9.7-9; Mark 6.14-16; Matthew 14.1-2

[4] From The Impossible Dream, lyrics by Joe Darion.

[5] Ibid.

[6] From the sermon, I See the Promised Land, preached at Mason Temple, Memphis, Tennessee, on April 3, 1968.

5 thoughts on “prophetic love

  1. Paul,

    What a sermon! If I knew someone wanted to kill me, I’d absolutely run!! That is of course unless I learned that I the bounty on my head was actually a cause worth dying for.

    Thank you for including Martin Luther King’s Mountaintop sermon. It’s one of my all-time favorites and I read it often during Black History Month. I love it because MLK wasn’t afraid of anything, not even dying! I want to be that way, unafraid, no matter what I’m pursuing or who I’m following…. I want that because I have faith, which to me means I shouldn’t be afraid of anything.

    I’ve always admired your love and justice calling, and will always remember your first sermon after your sabbatical, as it was absolutely soul-stirring. That sermon, and a few others things in my life has caused me to actively search for an appropriate name for my calling. While I’m still fine-tuning some of the particulars…. what I love and am passionate about is making a true difference in the lives of others, even those with whom I’d disagree – be it helping them to learn something new, helping them to achieve their dreams, even helping them to see a different point of view. I’m willing to die to ensure EVERYONE I come in contact with – no matter their race, sexual orientation, or political beliefs, has the right to pursue their dreams and livelihood without being harassed, ridiculed, injured or killed.

    I hope that I can come close to the examples of how Jesus and MLK lived their lives. I want everyone to feel free to be who they are so they can live fully, as I believe I have lived fully to this point in my life.

    Thanks for sharing your sermon!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loretta, you, indeed, i believe, have a calling. I admire and applaud your efforts to share freely with others the graces you have received that they, in the words of Jesus, might have life more abundantly. One of your comments, as many oft do, causes me to pause and reflect or rather re-reflect. That is, having a faith that allows me not to fear. I wrestle with that idea. I think, in my sermon, when I wrote/spoke of having a “cause greater than fear”, perhaps unconsciously what I was getting/aiming at is my sense that I might well be afraid (indeed, I think/feel fear is a good thing because it is a sign that I recognize my situation is dangerous), but my cause/calling compels me, in the words of the gospel passage, “to go on my way.” Having said that, truth be told, I pray never to be in a circumstance when I have to choose to run or to stand fast. Though, having said that (thus, having thought of it), somehow I sense that my life is geared (or being geared) to be prepared come what may. As always, thanks for reading and commenting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES Paul, we definitely need to be aware when our situation is dangerous, but as you pointed out the test is whether we stand fast or run.

      I feel that I said my faith should erase any fear I have stems from a recent incident where a college acquaintance’s son (who was an A student and star football player) was killed while walking with two female classmates after pushing them to the ground when a drive by shooter began firing. He fell on top of his friends to protect them. He died, they were uninjured. His mom said she knew her son would die young saving others because that’s how strong his faith was. Amazing right!! I figure if others aren’t afraid to help save others I shouldn’t be either.

      You don’t have to thank me. I look forward to your blogs.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a searingly powerful and sorrowful experience. I grieve the death of this fine young man. At the same, I rejoice in the lives of his friends who he saved through his selfless sacrifice. Your sharing this allows me to see clearly what you meant and mean by a faith that overcomes fear. Thank you.

    Like

  4. It definitely is Paul. There was an amazing 15 min segment on the young man during the Super Bowl pre-game show. His entire family was flown to the Super Bowl so the NFL could honor this young man and his ultimate sacrifice because his dream was to play in the NFL. The young ladies he saved were also in the interview. Not many kids that age have such faith.

    Like

Leave a Reply

