size counts – a personal reflection on the latest lottery

Reaching $1.6 billion, a record,

the lottery summoned a record…

 

(the dream of becoming a billionaire,

surely bigger than that of being a mere millionaire,

and definitely better than that of a trifling thousandaire)

 

…number of gamers,

most of whom, small risk-takers

who plunked down $2

to bet

they might get

(if not every dollar, then)

at least a small part of the pot

(Is that a lot

to ask

when the number’s so vast?)

 

Well, the winning numbers are all in –

lottery balls

 

 

 

Of the millions who bet,

perhaps praying to the silent sky

(for I don’t think God cares, by the by)

That they might get

a piece of the pie,

the pot was split among but three,

each now a half-billionaire to be

(at least, before taxes!).

 

I didn’t wager,

not even a dollar,

for with a 292,000,000 to 1 probability

I found it hard (really, an impossibility!)

to see myself a winner

(so, as I didn’t wager,

today, I’m $2 richer).

 

Though happy for the three now with their bank accounts o’erflowing

(though now, too, I think they’ll have more friends than they e’er thought of knowing!),

I still have a question, ‘round my head racing:

 

I wonder how many of our sisters and brothers poor,

from their meager financial resources, poured

their money,

which they could ill afford,

into the lottery,

betting

that they might net

a part

of the pot,

all for naught?

 

Another question nagging:

What sort of society sanctions gambling,

which, doubtless, entices the spending

of those on the margins living?

4 thoughts on “size counts – a personal reflection on the latest lottery

  1. Indeed. Yesterday morning we met a man outside the supermarket asking for change. We live in a world of plastic money and didn’t have any cash. Heading inside, we bought bottled water and chips to add to our lunch bags in the car. At the checkout in front of us was our friend from outside, buying a lottery ticket. Once outside, we gave him a sack lunch and a pair of socks and wished him luck. Sigh

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You raise such a great point Paul…,like Sandy I too saw many homeless folks and others you could tell should probably have spent their money on things like rent and food. Guess everyone wants to take the huge change for a fortune.

    Good for you for saving your $2 and remaining rich! Tim did buy a ticket but causes I would have given a huge amount of money to would have been charities like, the Alzheimer’s Assoc, Hospice, and of course church and the new Adrican-American museum.

    Thanks for getting us to focus on the dangers of buying lottery tickets when you absolutely should not making such a purpose.

    Like

    • Thanks, Loretta. Though I don’t buy lottery tickets (God knows that I, as we all take risks, but I take my risks in other areas of my living!), I don’t judge and much less condemn those who do; especially when they do so out of their discretionary resources. What I lament is that societally-sanctioned lotteries (under the guise of using the funds, for example, to support state sponsored educational institutions and programs [though I wonder what percentage of monies taken in go for that purpose]) unintentionally or perhaps intentionally play (pun, sadly, intended) on the oft wishful desires of the poor.

      Like

Leave a Reply

