today is…

World AIDS DayDecember 1

World AIDS Day

Since 1988, an annual global day of commemoration of the more than 35,000,000 people who have died from acquired immunodeficiency syndrome caused by the human immunodeficiency virus…

And a day of compassion for the 34,000,000 people living with HIV, and for their families, friends, and caregivers…

A day meant to highlight the human need to labor every day toward comprehensive prevention and treatment, and an effective cure.

Monday, March 20, 1995

Wayne Roberts Abernathy, my brother, my only sibling, and a far, far better human being and man than I ever will be, who, in this blog space, I remembered on this past Thanksgiving Day, died of AIDS.

Thinking of Wayne and all of my brothers and sisters who have died of HIV/AIDS, requiescant in pace.

Thinking of me and all who live, let us not rest until HIV/AIDS is no more.

2 thoughts on “today is…

  1. Thank you for keeping this horrific disease in the forefront of our hearts and minds. AND also in our continued ACTION to totally eliminate HIV/AIDS!

    I’ve heard you say many times that Wayne was a much better person than you are. That said, I would bet that Wayne is smiling down on you in that proud brotherly way, for all you’ve done since his death. What a wonderful tribute you’ve made to him. It’s proof that you’re a special person in your own right. May Wayne rest in peace.

    Like

  2. Thank you, Loretta, for your always kind words about Wayne’s looking down on me with pride. I’m not sure about that, but I do believe Wayne might laugh at even the idea that I honor him so. He embodied that kind of earnest self-effacement. He, for me was…is, and always will be one of the great ones.

    Like

Leave a Reply

